College News

PCC to offer Handgun Safety Course

Published Thursday, October 23, 2014
by Elizabeth Townsend

Like Dislike Like: 6 Dislike: 1

Tags: Con Ed continuing education Handgun Safety Classes pcc Piedmont Community College
Categories: categoryContinuing Education categoryPress Release
Views: 40714


Piedmont Community College will offer a Handgun Safety class on Saturday, Nov. 8. The 8-hour class will be held from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. and fulfills the course requirement for obtaining a concealed weapon permit.

Since 1995, N.C. citizens have had the right to carry concealed weapons – if they complete the training program. The course will cover laws concerning the use of deadly force, laws governing areas concealed weapons may be carried, and rules and ideas for gun safety.

The instructor for the class will be Lynn Ward, who has been a PCC instructor for over 20 years. He received basic firearms instructor training through the NRA and his concealed carry instructor training from the North Carolina Justice Academy.

For citizens to get a concealed carry permit, they need to first take the required class, and then apply for their permit through their local sheriff’s department. The other major requirements are that the applicant must be a U.S. citizen and a resident of the state of North Carolina for at least 30 days; be at least 21 years of age; not be under indictment; and not have a felony record, a violent misdemeanor, or an impaired driving offense in the last three years.

The registration fee is $99 for the class and must be paid by Wednesday, Nov. 5. Payment of the registration prior to the class is required to reserve a space in the class.

For more information, call the Kathleen Kersey at (336) 694-8064.