College News

PCC Foundation names Excellence Awards winners

Published Tuesday, September 17, 2013
by Elizabeth Townsend

Like Dislike Like: 2 Dislike: 0

Tags: pcc PCC Foundation Piedmont Community College
Categories: categoryPress Release
Views: 1995


The Piedmont Community College (PCC) Foundation has named four PCC instructors and four PCC staff members recipients of its annual Excellence Awards for 2013.

Wendy Jones, Instructor, Criminal Justice Technology; Carolyn Steele, Instructor, Early Childhood Associate; Janine Wall, Instructor, Associate Degree Nursing Program; and Robin McLean, Instructor, Cosmetology received the Foundation’s teaching awards for their commitment and demonstration of increased learning through various methods, including involvement in real-world tasks. Jones, Steele and Wall each received a $1,500 cash award and $1,500 to be used for program expenses. McLean received a $500 cash award and $500 for program expenses.

The faculty portfolios selected by the award selection committee demonstrated specific dynamic learning techniques, including hands-on training, creative study methods, service learning opportunities, and demonstrations of learning through judged performances by field experts.

Staff Excellence Awards were presented to Angela Webb, Dean, Workforce Development; Justin Long, Director, College Safety & Preparedness; Patti Clayton, Financial Coordinator, PCC Foundation and Coordinator, PCC Alumni Relations; and Wanda Gill, Secretary to the Dean, General Education and Developmental Studies.

The Foundation presented these awards to recognize a commitment to the College, excellent performance on the job, and willingness to share time and expertise through service to the institution, its students, and the wider community. Recipients received a $750 cash award and $750 for job-related expenditures.

PCC Foundation Chair Tracy Harris presented the awards on behalf of the Foundation during the College’s Fall Convocation in the Barnette Auditorium on the Person County Campus. This is the 15th year the PCC Foundation has presented the Excellence Awards.

Photo information
Pictured from left are, front: Janine Wall, Justin Long, Wendy Jones; standing, Robin McLean, Carolyn Steele, Angie Webb, Patti Clayton, Wanda Gill, and Tracy Harris, PCC Foundation Chair.