Handgun Safety Course
Start Date/Time: Saturday, March 23, 2019 8:00 AM
End Date/Time: Saturday, March 23, 2019 5:00 PM
Recurring Event: One time event
Contact: (336) 322-2156
Continuing Education
Location: Person County Campus
Handgun Safety Course
Piedmont Community College
March 23, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Call (336) 322-2156 to save your seat

The 8-hour class fulfills the course requirement for obtaining a concealed carry handgun permit.

Since 1995, N.C. citizens have had the right to carry concealed weapons, if they complete the Handgun Safety training program. The course will cover laws concerning the use of deadly force, laws governing areas concealed weapons may be carried, and rules and ideas for gun safety.

Lynn Ward, a 20 plus year instructor at PCC, will oversee the course. Ward received basic firearms instructor training through the NRA and his concealed carry instructor training from the North Carolina Justice Academy.

In order for citizens to be eligible to obtain a concealed carry permit, they need to first take this required class, and then apply for their permit through their local sheriff’s department. The other major requirements are that the applicant must applicant must be a:
* U.S. citizen
* Resident of the state of North Carolina for at least 30 days
* At least 21 years of age
* Not be under indictment
* Not have a felony record, a violent misdemeanor, or an impaired driving offense in the last three years.

The registration fee of $75 must be paid prior to the course start date and is required to reserve your space.

To enroll or for more information about PCC’s Handgun Safety course scheduled for Saturday, March 23, call PCC’s Workforce Development Team at (336) 322-2156.